Balthazar – ‘Do Not Claim Them Anymore’

balthazar cd

This is my second discovery from the Rock Werchter 2013 (see Jack Bugg for the first one). Balthatzar is a rock band from Belgium ( I know one more !). They first played together in 2004, released their first cd “Applause” in 2010 and a second album “Rats” in 2012.

I had never heard about them when I first walk into “the barn” with 14000 other people. It was the middle of the day, but under this huge tent I only remember the dark and their blue light show. They opened with a song called “Later” from their latest album. An hypnotic keyboard mixed with a violin caught my ear, then came a groovy bass with a fast off beat drum and finally a duo of voices. Just like that the show was already over, the hour they played went so fast. I have trouble to really remember the full setlist, but my mind is full of beautiful sounds and images of people dancing in this blue light.

Enjoy,

Leave a Reply

